Hanmish WhyteHamish Whyte was born near Glasgow where he lived until moving to Edinburgh in 2004. He has had several collections of poetry published, and edited many anthologies of Scottish literature, the most recent being Scottish Cats (Birlinn 2013). He runs the award-winning Mariscat Press.

He has worked as a librarian, reviewed crime fiction for Scotland on Sunday and is an Honorary Research Fellow, Department of Scottish Literature, Glasgow University. In 2007 he was awarded a joint Robert Louis Stevenson Fellowship with Diana Hendry.

He is a member of Shore Poets, Edinburgh, and plays percussion with The Whole Shebang.

His most recent HappenStance publication is the prose memoir Morgan & Me, which affectionally recalls a thirty-year friendship with poet Edwin Morgan.


  • Morgan & Me, A Memoir (2020)
  • Paper Cuts, Shoestring Press, 2020 (forthcoming)
  • Things We Never Knew (Shoestring Press, 2016)
  • Now the Robin (HappenStance, 2018)
  • Hannah, Are You Listening? (HappenStance, 2013)
  • The Unswung Axe (Shoestring Press, 2012)
  • A Bird in the Hand (Shoestring Press, 2008)
  • Window on the Garden (Essence Press/Botanic Press, 2006)
  • Siva in Lamlash (minimal missive, 1991)
  • Rooms (Aquila Press, 1986)
  • apple on an orange day  (Autolycus Press, 1972)


  • Take 5, no.7 (Shoestring Press, 2007) [contributor]
  • More Martial Mottoes (Galdragon Press, 1999)
  • Martial Mottoes (Galdragon Press, 1998)