Ruth PitterBorn in 1897 in Ilford, Ruth Pitter's initial book, First Poems, was published in 1920. Over a dozen volumes followed, including A Mad Lady's Garland, A Trophy of Arms, and Still by Choice.

The Enitharmon Press published her Collected Poems in 1996 and her long poem, Persephone in Hades, originally printed in a limited edition of 100 copies, was reprinted by HappenStance in 2007.

Ruth Pitter received the Hawthornden Prize in 1937, the Heinemann Award for Literature in 1954, and in 1955 was the first woman to receive the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry. She was created a Companion of Literature in 1974 and a Commander of the British Empire in 1979. She died on 29 February, 1992.

HappenStance Publications

Selected Poems, Ruth Pitter, HappenStance, 2010

A Conversation with Ruth Pitter, Thomas McKean, 2009

Persephone in Hades, HappenStance, 2007


National Poetry Archive